High Availability Clustering logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

High Availability Clustering Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • EX436 has no mandatory prerequisite: RHCSA or RHCE is recommended, not required, to book the Red Hat high availability exam.
  • The exam is one three-hour, hands-on section on RHEL High Availability Add-On administration, and configurations must survive reboot.
  • RH436 is recommended but optional; equivalent hands-on cluster experience satisfies the same preparation purpose.
  • Remote candidates need LiveUSB, a passed compatibility test and identity/hardware checks before they can sit the exam.

What You Are Actually Qualifying For

The Red Hat Certified Specialist in High Availability Clustering credential is earned by passing exam EX436, issued and delivered by Red Hat, Inc. through Red Hat exam delivery. It is a performance-based exam: you are given systems and a set of tasks, and you build, repair and tune a Pacemaker-style cluster on Red Hat Enterprise Linux using the High Availability Add-On. There are no multiple-choice questions to guess your way through.

That format shapes what "requirements" really means. Many certification programs gate entry with years of experience or a prior credential. Red Hat takes a different approach: the gate is not paperwork, it is whether you can produce working, reboot-persistent configurations in three hours. This article separates the formal rules (few), the recommended background (meaningful), and the practical skill threshold (the part that decides whether you pass).

If you are still deciding whether this credential suits your career, see our overview of what the High Availability Clustering certification is before working through the qualification details below.

Formal Eligibility: What Red Hat Does and Does Not Require

The published position is straightforward. No prior certification is mandatory to register for EX436. You do not need to hold RHCSA or RHCE, you do not need to attend a class, and Red Hat does not publish a minimum years-of-experience rule for this exam.

ItemStatus for EX436
RHCSARecommended, not mandatory
RHCERecommended, not mandatory
RH436 course attendanceRecommended or equivalent experience; class optional
Minimum work experienceNo published requirement
Exam formatOne three-hour hands-on section
Configuration persistenceMust survive reboot
Recommended is not the same as required: Red Hat's wording matters here. RHCSA or RHCE and RH436 are recommendations about preparation, not booking conditions. But a recommendation from the issuer of a hands-on exam is a strong signal about what the exam assumes you already know.

You will also need a Red Hat account, a way to pay (or an eligible subscription or voucher), and a delivery option you can actually use. Those logistics are covered in the booking section below.

Why RHCSA-level skill still matters

Cluster work sits on top of ordinary system administration. During the exam you will be managing services, networking, firewalld rules, storage devices, SELinux contexts and systemd units on RHEL nodes. If any of those basics slows you down, the three-hour clock punishes you twice: once for the time lost, and again because cluster misconfiguration is often caused by an underlying system problem such as a blocked port, a wrong hostname resolution or a missing package.

You do not need the RHCSA certificate on your transcript to demonstrate this, but you should be able to do RHCSA-style tasks without consulting notes.

Where RHCE fits

RHCE-level automation skill is helpful but is not what the High Availability Clustering exam measures. The exam objectives center on cluster configuration, fencing, resources, constraints and shared storage rather than on writing Ansible playbooks. Treat RHCE as useful background, not as the target of your preparation.

RH436 as preparation, not as a gate

RH436, Red Hat High Availability Clustering, is a four-day course (the current catalog entry is built on RHEL 8.3). It is optional. Two cautions are worth stating clearly:

  • RH436's topic list is preparation curriculum. It does not define the exam's exhaustive coverage.
  • The course's RHEL version does not tell you which release your booked exam runs. The live exam page follows the most recent available product version without naming a release in its main description, so check your booking confirmation rather than assuming RHEL 8.3.

If you take the class, treat it as a guided lab environment. If you skip it, you must replace that lab time with your own. Our High Availability Clustering training overview compares both routes.

The Real Gate: Skills the Exam Assumes You Have

Because grading is against objective criteria on running systems, the effective requirement is competence under time pressure. Candidates who struggle usually lack one of the following, not a credential:

  • Command-line fluency with pcs. You should create clusters, add resources, set constraints and inspect status without hunting through help output.
  • Troubleshooting discipline. A resource that will not start needs a methodical read of cluster status, logs and resource agent output.
  • Persistence awareness. Services enabled, firewall rules permanent, storage mounted through cluster resources rather than ad hoc. Anything that works now but vanishes at reboot fails the task.
  • Multi-node thinking. Actions on one node must be reasoned about in terms of what the other nodes see, including quorum and fencing consequences.

Key Takeaway

Reboot persistence is the quiet failure mode. After every major task, ask whether it would still be true after all nodes restart, and practice verifying that by actually rebooting in your lab.

To understand how demanding this is relative to other Red Hat exams, read how hard the High Availability Clustering exam is.

Readiness Check Against the Nine Objectives

Red Hat publishes nine first-level objectives for EX436. They are unweighted, so no objective is officially worth more than another, and nine is simply the count of published lines rather than an issuer-declared domain structure. The detailed exam outline takes precedence over the shorter seven-item summary on the credential's overview page. Use the list below as a self-qualification checklist: if you cannot do these from a blank lab, you are not yet ready to book.

Configure a high-availability cluster

Build a multi-node cluster from scratch and bring it to a healthy state.

  • Install packages, enable services and authenticate nodes
  • Create the cluster and verify membership and quorum
  • Open required firewall access persistently

Configure cluster fencing

Fencing protects data integrity by isolating misbehaving nodes.

  • Choose and configure fence devices appropriate to the environment
  • Test that a node is actually fenced when required
  • Understand how fencing interacts with storage and failover

Configure cluster logging and monitoring

Know where cluster components log and how to read what they say.

  • Locate and adjust logging for cluster daemons
  • Use logs to diagnose resource and node problems

Configure cluster monitoring

Published as a separate entry from logging.

  • Inspect cluster and resource status quickly
  • Configure monitoring behavior for resources

Configure a clustered fail-over service

Deliver a service that moves between nodes.

  • Create resources and group them sensibly
  • Order and colocate dependent resources
  • Prove failover by moving or failing the service

Configure cluster service behavior

Shape how and where resources run.

  • Use constraints, stickiness and failure-handling options
  • Control start, stop and recovery behavior

Configure storage

Shared storage underpins many clustered services.

  • Present and prepare shared block devices
  • Integrate storage with cluster resources

Configure GFS2 filesystems

Create and mount a clustered filesystem across nodes.

  • Create the filesystem with the correct cluster identity and journal count
  • Manage locking and mounting through the cluster

Grow a GFS2 filesystem

Listed separately in the published outline.

  • Extend the underlying device and then the filesystem
  • Confirm all nodes see the new size

For a deeper treatment of each, see the complete guide to all nine High Availability Clustering content areas.

Booking, Fees and Delivery Requirements

Cost

Red Hat's program-wide standard exam list price is USD500. Treat that as a reference point, not a checkout quotation for EX436: the price shown in your regional booking cart controls. Taxes, regional pricing and any subscription or voucher arrangement can change what you actually pay. A fuller breakdown lives in our High Availability Clustering certification cost guide.

Delivery options

Red Hat offers remote, testing-center and classroom delivery, all subject to booking availability. Not every option is available at every time or location, so the date you want may depend on the delivery mode you choose. For scheduling realities, see High Availability Clustering exam dates and scheduling.

Delivery modeWhat to confirm before booking
RemoteLiveUSB, successful compatibility test, identity and hardware checks
Testing centerLocal availability and arrival requirements
ClassroomWhether an exam session is offered with your course
Documentation allowance is unspecified: The exam page does not state an exam-specific documentation allowance. Do not assume that man pages or product documentation will be available. Verify the rules for your booked session and practice with whatever resources are confirmed, including in-system manual pages.

Exam-Day Conditions That Affect Eligibility to Sit

Meeting the requirements is not only about knowledge. If you choose remote delivery, you cannot sit the exam without passing the technical and identity gates:

  1. LiveUSB: remote sessions run from a Red Hat-provided bootable environment, so you must be able to create and boot it on your hardware.
  2. Compatibility test: run it well before exam day, on the exact machine, network and room you will use.
  3. Identity and hardware checks: have acceptable identification ready and a workspace that satisfies the proctoring requirements.

Candidates lose attempts to preventable setup failures far more often than they expect. Treat the compatibility test as a hard prerequisite, not a formality.

Results and feedback

Red Hat's published guidance on results timing is not perfectly consistent: the exam page says usually three U.S. business days, while the program guide allows up to five business days. Plan around the longer window. The exam page describes total scores, while the handbook also describes objective-area feedback. Neither provides task-by-task detail, so you will know how you did overall and possibly by area, but not which individual task cost you the pass. Pass marks are not stated in the sources used for this article, so we do not quote one; the passing score guide explains how to interpret what is published.

Retakes, Validity and Renewal

Retake policy

Under Red Hat's training policies, an eligible unsuccessful first individual attempt receives one free retake. Conditions apply: the exam must have been purchased or covered by a subscription in a way that qualifies, eligibility periods must not have lapsed, and scheduling restrictions can apply. Read the policy before you book so you know whether your purchase route qualifies.

Validity and renewal

Certifications are current for three years under the current framework. You can renew before expiry by passing the original exam again or by earning a qualifying same-level or higher-level credential.

Watch for a documentation conflict: Red Hat's legacy renewal page still uses non-expiring/current terminology and narrower exam-only renewal wording for specialist credentials. The FAQ, the dated May 11, 2026 framework and the current handbook govern. For credentials earned before the new framework, the FAQ says updated renewal and mapping rules apply to the active transcript after you pass a new exam following May 11, 2026. Always confirm against your own transcript rather than relying on the legacy page alone.

Because the specialist credential has a defined currency period, factor renewal into your long-term plan, not just your first attempt. If you are weighing return on that ongoing commitment, read whether the certification is worth it.

A Qualification Plan Sequenced by Domain

This is the one place generic scheduling advice belongs, so it is tied directly to the exam's objectives. The sequencing logic is simple: later objectives depend on earlier ones, so build in dependency order and keep fencing and persistence checks running throughout.

Week 1

Foundation and cluster build

  • Rebuild a multi-node cluster repeatedly until it takes minutes, not hours
  • Practice firewall, hostname and service prerequisites
Week 2

Fencing, logging and monitoring

  • Configure and deliberately trigger fencing
  • Read cluster logs to diagnose induced failures
Week 3

Failover services and behavior

  • Build resource groups, ordering and colocation
  • Tune stickiness and recovery options and observe the results
Week 4

Storage, GFS2 and growth

  • Create, mount and grow a GFS2 filesystem through the cluster
  • Reboot every node and confirm everything returns correctly

Finish with timed, full-scope runs of your own design. Write your own practice scenarios; do not rely on remembered or reconstructed exam content, which is neither reliable nor appropriate. For a fuller plan, follow the High Availability Clustering study guide, and use the practice test site to check conceptual understanding between lab sessions.

Who Benefits From the Credential

This credential is aimed at administrators who keep Red Hat Enterprise Linux workloads available: infrastructure and platform engineers, systems administrators at organizations running clustered databases or file services, and consultants who deploy RHEL High Availability Add-On environments for clients. Typical workplaces are enterprises with on-premises or hybrid RHEL estates where downtime is costly.

We avoid quoting salary or hiring figures here because no attributable market evidence is supplied for this article, and certification does not by itself guarantee earnings or employment. If you want the career angle, see the High Availability Clustering jobs overview and the salary guide, which treat the topic qualitatively and with appropriate caution.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need RHCSA or RHCE before taking EX436?

No. Red Hat recommends RHCSA or RHCE but does not require either to register for EX436. In practice, the system administration skills those credentials cover are assumed during the hands-on exam, so you should be comfortable with them even without the certificates.

Is attending RH436 mandatory?

No. RH436 is a recommended four-day course, but class attendance is optional. Equivalent hands-on experience is an acceptable route, provided you can complete all nine published objectives in a lab without assistance.

How long is the exam and what does it test?

It is one three-hour hands-on section on RHEL High Availability Add-On administration. Results are graded against objective criteria, and your configurations must survive reboot. For difficulty context, see our pass rate discussion, which explains why published pass-rate statistics are not available.

How much does the exam cost?

Red Hat's program-wide standard exam list price is USD500, but the regional price shown in your booking cart controls what you pay. Check the cart for taxes and regional adjustments, and confirm whether any subscription or voucher applies.

How long is the certification valid and how do I renew?

Under the current framework, certifications are current for three years. Renew before expiry by retaking the original exam or by earning a qualifying same-level or higher-level credential. Because older Red Hat pages use different terminology, check the current handbook, the dated framework and your active transcript.

Ready to pass your High Availability Clustering exam?

Put this into practice with free High Availability Clustering questions across every exam domain.