- Why There Is No Reliable EX436 Pass Rate
- What Data Actually Exists
- How a Hands-On Exam Is Graded
- Where Candidates Realistically Lose Points
- Domain-by-Domain Readiness Check
- The Reboot-Survival Rule
- Retake Policy, Cost and Result Timing
- A Short Prep Sequence Tied to the Objectives
- How to Read Pass-Rate Claims You Find Online
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Red Hat does not publish an EX436 pass rate, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
- EX436 is one three-hour hands-on section; results are graded against objective criteria, and configurations must survive reboot.
- RHCSA or RHCE is recommended, not mandatory; RH436 or equivalent experience is recommended and class attendance is optional.
- Eligible unsuccessful first individual attempts receive one free retake, subject to eligibility periods and scheduling restrictions.
Why There Is No Reliable EX436 Pass Rate
If you searched for the pass rate of the Red Hat Certified Specialist in High Availability Clustering exam (EX436), here is the direct answer: there is no verified, publicly attributable pass-rate statistic for this exam. Red Hat does not list one on the exam page, in the program guide, or in the training FAQ. This article therefore will not give you a percentage, because any number would be invented.
What we can do is explain what the available evidence says about how the exam works, why a headline pass rate would be a weak predictor of your own result anyway, and how to assess your readiness against the published objectives. If you want a broader sense of difficulty, our guide on how hard the High Availability Clustering exam is covers that in more depth, and the passing score article addresses what Red Hat does and does not disclose about scoring.
What Data Actually Exists
Rather than fabricate statistics, it is more useful to list what Red Hat does document about EX436. These facts shape your odds far more than a population-level average would:
- Format: a single three-hour, hands-on section covering RHEL High Availability Add-On administration. There is no multiple-choice component described.
- Grading: outcomes are graded against objective criteria. Your cluster either does the thing or it does not.
- Persistence requirement: configurations must survive reboot.
- Recommended background: RHCSA or RHCE is recommended; neither is mandatory. RH436 or equivalent experience is recommended; class attendance is optional.
- Objectives: nine unweighted published exam objectives, listed in the table below.
- Results: the exam page says usually three U.S. business days; the program guide allows five business days.
Notably absent: task counts, a published pass mark, and any cohort success statistic. Our requirements article walks through eligibility and prerequisites in detail.
How a Hands-On Exam Is Graded
Performance-based Red Hat exams behave very differently from multiple-choice tests, and that difference is the reason a single pass-rate number is hard to interpret. On EX436 you are handed a set of systems and a set of requirements. Grading checks the resulting state of those systems against objective criteria: Is the fence device configured and does fencing actually work? Is the resource running on the right node? Does the cluster come back after a reboot?
There is no partial credit for a plausible-looking command history. A configuration that is nearly right but fails the check is, for grading purposes, not right. The exam page describes total scores, while the handbook also describes objective-area feedback, but neither provides task-by-task performance details. That means a failed attempt gives you a directional signal about weak areas, not a line-by-line debrief.
| Aspect | What Red Hat Documents | What Is Not Published |
|---|---|---|
| Exam length | One three-hour hands-on section | Number of tasks |
| Scoring feedback | Total score; objective-area feedback described in the handbook | Task-by-task performance detail |
| Result timing | Usually three U.S. business days (exam page); up to five business days (program guide) | Guaranteed turnaround |
| Passing threshold | Not stated in our sources | Pass mark and pass rate |
| Documentation allowance | Exam page does not specify one | Verify the rules for your booked session |
Where Candidates Realistically Lose Points
Because there is no official failure analysis, what follows is informed reasoning from the exam's structure, not statistics. Hands-on clustering exams tend to punish a few predictable habits.
Fencing treated as an afterthought
Fencing is its own published objective (Configure cluster fencing), and in a real Pacemaker cluster, resources will not behave correctly without functioning stonith. Candidates who postpone fencing and then run short on time often discover that dependent configuration will not validate. Configure and test it early.
Configurations that work now but not after reboot
The exam explicitly requires configurations to survive reboot. Anything left in a runtime-only state, a service not enabled, a mount not persisted, a cluster not set to start, is a latent failure.
Time spent on the wrong layer
Three hours sounds generous until you are debugging a shared-storage problem that blocks every later task. Storage and GFS2 work sits late in the objective list but can consume disproportionate time if the underlying block device or locking setup is wrong.
Under-practising the recommended foundation
RHCSA or RHCE is recommended but not mandatory. Candidates who skip that foundation sometimes burn time on basic RHEL administration, networking, SELinux, firewalling, and storage, that the cluster tasks silently assume.
Domain-by-Domain Readiness Check
The published outline lists nine first-level objectives. They are unweighted, and nine is the supplied-line count rather than an issuer-declared "official domain count" or a percentage split. For a fuller breakdown, see our exam domains guide. Use the list below as a self-audit: can you do each of these from a cold start, on a fresh RHEL system, with persistence verified?
Domains 1 and 2: Configure a high-availability cluster; Configure cluster fencing
These are the foundation. Without a healthy cluster and working fencing, later objectives cannot be demonstrated.
- Build a multi-node cluster from scratch, including authentication between nodes and starting cluster services.
- Configure at least one fence device appropriate to the environment and prove that it actually fences.
- Know how to verify cluster and fencing status rather than assuming success.
Domains 3 and 4: Configure cluster logging and monitoring; Configure cluster monitoring
The published outline lists logging/monitoring and monitoring as separate entries, so prepare for both.
- Know where cluster components write logs and how to adjust logging behaviour.
- Be able to read cluster state quickly and interpret what it tells you about resources and nodes.
- Practise tracing a failed action back to a log message under time pressure.
Domains 5 and 6: Configure a clustered fail-over service; Configure cluster service behavior
This is where the cluster does visible work: services that move, restart, and respect constraints.
- Create resources and group or order them so a service starts correctly and fails over cleanly.
- Control where services run and how they react to failure, including the preferences and limits that govern placement.
- Test failover deliberately by disabling or failing a node, then confirm the result.
Domains 7, 8 and 9: Configure storage; Configure GFS2 filesystems; Grow a GFS2 filesystem
Shared storage and clustered filesystems are the area most likely to expose gaps. Growing GFS2 appears as its own separately displayed entry.
- Prepare shared storage that multiple nodes can use safely.
- Create and mount a GFS2 filesystem so that it is available cluster-wide and persists across reboot.
- Expand a GFS2 filesystem after extending the underlying storage, and verify the new size.
One caution on scope: the RH436 course (a four-day course built on RHEL 8.3) is preparation curriculum. Its topics do not establish exhaustive exam coverage, and the live exam page follows the most recent available product version without naming a release. Do not assume EX436 is "RHEL 8.3" just because the course materials are; check the booking details for your session. Our study guide expands on how to map preparation to the objectives.
The Reboot-Survival Rule
Key Takeaway
Treat "survives reboot" as part of every task, not a final step. After completing each objective, restart the relevant nodes (or the whole cluster) and confirm that the cluster forms, fencing works, resources start where expected, and storage mounts correctly. Candidates who defer this check to the last ten minutes risk discovering several broken tasks at once.
Because grading is against objective criteria on the resulting state, a task that only works in your current session may score as incomplete. Build a habit of verifying persistence incrementally. It costs a few minutes per checkpoint and removes the largest category of avoidable failure.
Retake Policy, Cost and Result Timing
Because a pass-rate figure is unavailable, the practical question becomes: what happens if you do not pass the first time, and what does it cost?
- Free retake: eligible unsuccessful first individual attempts receive one free retake under Red Hat's training policies, subject to purchase or subscription eligibility periods and scheduling restrictions. Read the policy before you book so you know whether your purchase qualifies.
- Price: the program-wide standard exam list price is USD500. That is not an exam-specific checkout quotation, and the regional booking-cart price controls what you actually pay. Our certification cost breakdown covers the surrounding costs.
- Delivery: remote, testing-center and classroom delivery are subject to booking availability. Remote candidates need LiveUSB, a successful compatibility test and the required identity and hardware checks.
- Results: usually three U.S. business days per the exam page, with the program guide allowing five business days.
For scheduling windows and deadlines, see exam dates and scheduling.
What a passing result is worth
Certifications are current for three years, and renewal happens through the original exam or qualifying same-level or higher-level credentials under the current framework. For pre-framework credentials, the FAQ says updated renewal and mapping rules apply to the active transcript after a new exam is passed following May 11, 2026. Red Hat's legacy renewal page still uses non-expiring terminology and narrower specialist exam-only wording, so rely on the current handbook, the dated framework and your active transcript rather than that page alone. If you are weighing value, the ROI analysis and salary guide discuss the career side without promising outcomes.
A Short Prep Sequence Tied to the Objectives
Generic study advice matters less here than ordering your practice around dependencies in the objectives. A cluster cannot demonstrate failover without fencing and storage, so sequence your lab time accordingly.
Cluster build and fencing
- Rebuild a two- or three-node cluster repeatedly until it takes minutes, not an hour.
- Configure and test fencing every time; make it automatic.
Services and behaviour
- Create fail-over services, then adjust placement and failure behaviour.
- Practise reading logs and cluster status to explain every outcome.
Storage and GFS2
- Prepare shared storage, build GFS2, then grow it.
- Reboot everything and confirm the filesystem and services return cleanly.
Timed full runs
- Run end-to-end scenarios against a three-hour clock using your own original task lists.
- Finish each run with a full reboot verification.
Write your own practice scenarios rather than hunting for leaked or reconstructed exam content. Not only is that unreliable, it does not build the diagnostic skill the exam rewards. If you want structured drills, our practice test site offers original material, and the cheat sheet is useful for last-minute review. For course options, see training resources.
How to Read Pass-Rate Claims You Find Online
You will encounter forum posts, course landing pages and videos claiming a specific success rate for EX436 or for Red Hat exams in general. Apply a simple checklist before trusting any of them:
- Is there a named source and date? A claim attributed to Red Hat with a link you can verify is different from an unattributed number.
- Is the population defined? A training vendor's own students are a self-selected group and say little about all candidates.
- Is it about this exam? Statistics about a different Red Hat exam, or a different credential that happens to share a similar acronym, do not transfer.
- Does it give a pass mark? If a site cites an exact passing score for EX436, check it against Red Hat's own materials; our sources do not publish one.
The healthier approach is to ignore the aggregate and measure yourself. Can you complete a realistic build covering the nine objectives, with fencing proven and everything surviving reboot, inside the three-hour window with time to spare? If yes, your odds look good regardless of what any average says. If not, the gaps are visible in your own lab notes. Learn more about the credential itself in our certification overview.
Frequently Asked Questions
There is no verified, publicly attributable pass rate for EX436. Red Hat does not publish one, so any specific percentage you see should be treated as unverified. Judge readiness against the nine published objectives instead.
The sources we rely on do not state a pass mark or task count. The exam page describes total scores and the handbook describes objective-area feedback, but neither gives task-by-task detail. See our passing score article for what is and is not known.
No. RHCSA or RHCE is recommended, but neither credential is mandatory. RH436 or equivalent experience is also recommended, and class attendance is optional.
Eligible unsuccessful first individual attempts receive one free retake under Red Hat's training policies, subject to purchase or subscription eligibility periods and scheduling restrictions. Confirm your eligibility before booking.
The exam page says usually three U.S. business days, while the program guide allows five business days. Plan around the longer window and check your booking confirmation for specifics.
- High Availability Clustering Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt
- High Availability Clustering Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass
- High Availability Clustering Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling
- How Hard Is the High Availability Clustering Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026